Protecting Children Should Trump Our Fears

With her guide dog by her side, child sex trafficking survivor Margeaux Gray presented perhaps the most powerful testimonial at the January U.S. Congressional Briefing: Combating Modern Slavery.

“This is my first time speaking in front of an audience like this,” she began. “Even after I escaped I was forced to live in the slavery of my own isolated horror. PTSD, eating disorders, adrenal insufficiency, blindness—all related to the traumas of physical and sexual abuse that I endured as a result of being trafficked. … I was trafficked at a young age, auctioned off to anyone willing to pay. No physician ever asked if I was abused and I saw many of them before I escaped at 18.”

Margeaux spoke about the important need to educate all sectors of society about modern slavery and human trafficking—from social workers and physicians to teachers and businessmen. She said that our need to protect vulnerable children should trump our fears that this is a “touchy subject” or that “we just won’t go there.” We should be able to create educational methodologies that work best for each particular stage of a child’s development.

Margeaux spoke of the need to address each survivor depending on the kind of trauma they experienced.  “If it were not for the services I had access to, I would not have survived, even after I had escaped. Empower yourself by empowering others. This is a human issue. We can do this.”

Learn more at Cameron Conaway’s Women News Network article: U.S.: Physicians must identify & report underage victims of sex-trafficking.

Leave a Reply

